Prove it!

Do not put the LORD your God to the test.

Deuteronomy 6:16

Love Stories

I read something in Lysa Terkuerst’s book, Uninvited, that brought to light a hard question to answer.

He is jealous for you. He is jealous for me. The fullness of His love and lavish acceptance is the only match for the rejections we will experience. And He absolutely doesn’t want us making other relations the false gods of our worship. As we seek love and acceptance God doesn’t want us to test Him, just trust Him. 

I can’t say with 100% certainty as I haven’t done any testing but I believe a good portion, if not all, human beings crave love. They crave knowing somebody out there loves them. I know I do. I love having a family that loves me and I have yet to meet somebody who doesn’t want to be loved.

When we feel unloved or rejected by one relationship, we will instantly turn to find acceptance elsewhere or will chase after bad relationship in hopes they will eventually love us. It is so dangerous to look for perfect love in a broken world. A broken world full of hurt, pain, and suffering. This world was created in perfection but Romans 5:12 tells us:

When Adam sinned, sin entered the world. Adam’s sin brought death, so death spread to everyone, for everyone sinned.

Once this sin happened our perfect world became broken. This is why we can’t look for perfect love in this work but we must look to the One that isn’t broken. The One that isn’t full of hurt, pain, and suffering. God, He is our One that continually offers His perfect love and perfect acceptance. All we have to do it trust in His promises. The Bible tells us multiple promises of God’s love for us. In times of rejection and feeling unloved, trust in these promises.

He wonderfully made us (basically all of Psalm 139):

Psalm 139:13-14 – For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

He hears us:

Psalm 34:17-18 – The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles. The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

He so loved us:

John 3:16 – For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

First, He ‘knit’ us together. We aren’t just something thrown together real quick. I don’t know if you have ever tried to knit… it’s difficult and I gave up. It is intricate work. He spent time on you making you just right. He isn’t going to discard you and will always be ready to hear our cries. He close to those He fearfully and wonderfully made to hear every rejection and offer His comfort and peace.

Second, His love goes beyond the intricacy of our make up. He died a brutal death to show exactly how much He loved us. There isn’t much you can add to that. The Bible tells us in Isaiah that He was beaten beyond recognition. In the Gospels we see that God turned His face from Jesus because of all of our sins piled on Him. Every sin you and I have ever done or will do was placed on His shoulders. Isaiah 59:2 tells us that sin separates us from God and that is exactly what happened when Jesus, who was sinless, took all of our’s and placed them on himself.

The list above is just a few ways God’s shows his love and acceptance of you. I encourage you to do your own study to find more. There is a vast amount of verses to show His love for us.

So with all of that, here is the question that comes to light:

When we ‘live rejected’ do we truly believe God’s promises laid out in scripture?

When we don’t live in the promises of His Word and constantly doubt His love we aren’t trusting Him. We are testing Him. We are saying show me something miraculous that will prove Your love for me. We are saying I don’t believe You died for me. You don’t love me that much.

Time and time again God shows us His love for us. He left His world to become a man and die an agonizing death for us. He did the hard part so that our part is easy. All we have to do is trust Him. That’s it! How much more could He do to prove His love for you?!

It’s time we start ‘Living Loved’, as Lysa Terkeurst says. It’s time we stop looking for acceptance in this broken world and relaxing in the acceptance of the perfect Christ.

Leave a Reply

