Week Seven

She Moves Forward in Faith

Ruth 4:1-22

Bible-lady-700x330px

What better way to finish up a lesson than the greatest one of all… Faith. This last week we went over what continues to push towards finishing a goal, faith. Faith that what you are doing is what God has called you to do. Faith in Philippians 1:6:

And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.

One point that our book makes in Day Four is that it is hard to know when God is telling us to finish or if we are just wanting to quit. What are the reasons for us wanting to quit? Are we seeking after what God wants or has it just gotten difficult?

I don’t know about you but many of the things that I would end up quitting are started without consulting with God first. Do you ever do that? It seems like it should be something I should do because these other people are but is that what God had planned for me? We are all created with different talents, abilities, and purposes. What God has planned for me may be completely different than what He has planned for you. We all have these ideas in our head of what are the things I should be doing however, we fail to ask ourselves if that is what God wants for us. The world makes us feel like if tons of people aren’t recognizing what it is you do for God then you aren’t doing enough. Leading these bible studies has been one source that has caused me to want to quit on multiple occasions. Not because I don’t think that God has called me to be more bold and step out of my comfort zone but because, I don’t know if you have noticed, I don’t exactly reach the masses. However, with each new study I can see a change in my own life. With each new study somebody new has been reached. I can’t tell you the joy I felt with the start of this study, finding out somebody I love dearly has started following and has grown just a little bit from joining me in this study. What would have happened if I had listened to that small voice telling me it isn’t worth it and to quit? What would have happened if I quit having faith that I was following what God wanted me to do?

Hebrews 11:1 tells us:

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

The only thing I hope for is that whatever God has for my life that I would follow. My only hope is to be found usable by my Creator and to allow Him to finish the good work He starts. That all hinges on if I am listening to His voice or the worlds. Do my decisions stem from what the world is telling me I should be doing or from what He tells me?

When we feel like it is time to move on from what we have started we have to ask ourselves if this us quitting or are we allowing God to finish what He started in our lives and the book asks a great question to help us figure that out:

Has God found me faithful here so I can move there?

Asking ourselves this simple question and answering it with truth can help us see if God is finished in this area or not. I can’t answer the question, nor can your closest friend. The only One who can is God. Seek your answer from Him when you feel it is time to move forward.

Leave a Reply

