Week Four

photo-4-09-11-3-42-12-pm

She Follows Through Despite How She Feels

Ruth 2:4-13

I can’t tell you the amount of times I have started a diet plan and exercise program. I start out with the thought that this time it is going to be different. I’m going to follow through. However, it doesn’t take long to realize that I have not followed through. Somehow after all of the starting the only thing I have managed to do is gain more weight. It always ends in the same way. After about a week I’m just flat out tired. I’m tired of spending so much time doing the healthy meal prepping, I’m tired of staying up late or getting up early to work out. At the end of the day the last thing I feel like doing is putting on my all too tight spandex pants and going to work out. At 4:30am I’m too annoyed with the time it is to give it all I have.

My husband and I used to watch the Biggest Loser. Talk about motivating! Seeing people that have more weight on their bodies than me pushing themselves to point of puking. There used to be a trainer that I am sure everybody jillian-michaelshas heard… Jillian Michaels! Phew! Just saying the name makes my body tense. She was a tough love trainer. There were times I saw her climb on contestant’s backs as they scaled a mountain just to drive her points home. There was one thing question that she asked a couple times through her time on the show… But did you die? Sounds harsh but the point is there. Our feelings play a big role in how far we take things. We are capable of much more than we allow God to do with us.

In Matthew 17 the disciples had tried to cast out a demon in a little boy with seizures but after a few tries gave up. The desperate father turned to his only other option, Jesus. Just as Jesus does, He cast the demon out with just a few powerful words from His mouth. Later the disciples asked ‘Why couldn’t we cast out that demon?’ Jesus promptly responds in Matthew 17:20:

“You don’t have enough faith,” Jesus told them. “I tell you the truth, if you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.”

Could you imagine if stopped allowing our feelings to overshadow the faith we had in Jesus?! Here Jesus tells us that nothing would be impossible! We are capable of so much more than what our feelings allow us to believe. We were created in the image of God himself and He is no quitter. During times we feel beaten down, tired, hurt, and whatever other feelings allow us to give up and quit we need to remember who our Father is. We need to remember that if we pushed our feelings aside that make us want to quit, He will be there to pick us up and carry us across the finish line. It takes just the faith of a mustard seed to be able to move those mountains. Let’s stop letting our feelings get in the way of what God is capable of doing with us.

transparent-scroll-line

Habit Three: She stays open to the movement of God.

Habit Three Memory Verse: Many plans are in a mans heart but the Lord’s decree will prevail. Proverbs 19:21

Leave a Reply

