Week Two

Week one down! I can tell already that I have a lot of work to do. Time to be honest… I did not keep up with each day this week ALREADY! Ugh. I can come up with a million and one excuses to why I didn’t keep up however, the truth of the matter is that I ALLOWED the weakened state of the busyness of life start me into the Cycle of Defeat.

This cycle seems to be what makes it easy for our adversary to strike as well. In 1 Peter 5:8 we are told:
4.1.1

‘Be serious! Be alert! Your adversary the Devil is prowling around like a roaring lion, looking for anyone he can devour.’ 

It starts with ‘Be serious! Be alert!’ Remembering at all times the Devil is looking for times of weakness. He knows full well where he is going at the end of this battle and his goal is to take as many of God’s precious creations with him. Getting you into the Cycle of Defeat is the easiest way for him to make you ineffectual as a believer in Christ. Being mindful and honest with ourselves of when we are weak and need support or what causes us to be susceptible to the Devil’s attacks is going to be one of the best ways to be prepared to fight against the attacks.

In Ruth 1 we see that Ruth seemed to have this under control. She was honest with herself that the loss of her husband put her in an emotional state of distress and she clung to the One who would give her the strength to not quit. That is going to be one way that we can keep ‘alert’. I have not always been honest with myself when I needed help or when I was setting myself up for defeat. I seem to have this inner desire to please everybody and sometimes I may take on too much that only ends in frustration and defeat and I end up
quitting everything. Instead of clinging to God to provide the strength and wisdom to succeed, my inner voice would put her hand up and say ‘I’ve got this. I know what I can handle.’ What would happen if I would be honest with myself and listen to and cling to the One who created me? Just like Ruth. Imagine the way we could be used. Ruth clung to God during her time of weakness instead of quit.

One thing that can put me into an attitude of giving up is when I make a mistake… well last week I made one with the start of this study! The video was actually supposed to go with this week and so was the verse. Week Two start with Habit One so you get another week to memorize that verse and another week to view that video if you want 🙂 I guess this is a first start to becoming a woman who doesn’t quit, right?

Habit One: She accepts the assignment of refinement.

Habit One Memory Verse: “Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much,’ Luke 16:10

Leave a Reply

