Week Ten

She girds herself with strength, and strengthens her arms.

strong_woman

It seems that a lot of the attributes associated with the Proverbs 31 woman come from her mind. The resolve to even start this journey, the mastery of our emotions, the self-control with the family finances, the rejection of evil, the willingness to work, the love to be the
merchant ship gathering the best for your family, The-Brand-Brief-For-Nikes-Just-Do-It-Campaignthe training to raise early and prepare, and the determination to see our family dreams come to life all start with the stength of mind. Most goals to be accomplished start with overcoming
your self-doubts, selfishness, and low confidence to, as Nike commercials say, ‘Just do it!’

 My husband once told me that if you really want something you’ll do it. He got this from somebody else who, I’m sure, got it from somebody else. To him, it was advise to quit using tobacco but it is something that can be applied in every facet of our lives. With tobacco you have a chemical addiction to something. I have heard it is a tough thing to quit and many people fall back into the habbit after years of stearing clear of it. But no matter the situation or hold something has on you if you really want to quit, you’ll do it. You will do everything in your power to get the resources or train yourself to reach your goal. The question you have to ask yourself is how much do you want the stength to be this virtuous woman? How far are you willing to go to be her? Are you trainingdream-blue-books-boy-Favim.com-722005 your mind to be able to take up these attributes of her?

So how do we grow in mental strength to have the resolve to do the work of this virtous woman? Well, as you have read in our book, Elizabeth George offers some good advise:

  1. Commitment: Just like we discussed earlier, if you are not fully commited to this change you simply won’t stick to it or may not even start. Commitment is defined as the state or quality of being dedicated to a cause, activity, etc. We have to dedicate ourselves to the work we have infront of us.
  2. Willingness: We discussed this in Week Six. We related willing to delight. We should be delighted to do the work for our family and God. We were blessed to have these people specially created by God for us to love.
  3. Motivation: Why are we doing any of this? Sometimes I lose sight of why I get up at 5am or why I go to work but stepping back and remembering why is important. 1 Corinthians 10:31 tells us ‘So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.’ The work we do for our family should be done to glorify God. Again, He gave us these people, it is up to us to take care of the special gift(s) He has given us.
  4. Discipline: Elizabeth George writes in this section ‘Discipline is necessary for turning talk into action and reaching our goals.’ Just like the smoker that wants to quit, it is going to take a lot of discipline to stay away from those cigarettes. I want to lose weight but it is going to take more discipline than I have applied to stay away from the donuts and cheesecake. When we feel tired or broken down we need to train our minds to pull our strength from the One who has an abundance, GOD. When we feel weak or unmotivated to do our work we need to stop and pray for God’s strength. I believe this is the one resource we all fail to pull out first. We need to start disciplining our mind to look to God and not others for our strength.

Our challenge this week is to discipline or train our minds to seek God in our times of weakness. When we are tired, ask God for strength to finish our day strong. When we do not feel the delight in our work, ask God to renew that joy and remind us of why we are doing this.

One thought on “Week Ten

  1. Thanks, Brittany! This chapter came at a good time for me. Today was the last day of school for students. My summer of “freedom” to do what I want to do is here again! Yay! Many summers I’ve had huge aspirations to get our house more organized, redecorate a room, etc. Often times I find myself in August wondering what I did worth my “free” time. I will use some of the author’s advice and make a list to check off this summer of both home and church protects I want to accomplish. Our school year is so busy. Pray with me that I will not only use this summer to recharge me, but also my home and family. I love each one of you ladies and I’m thankful to have you in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

