Just Keep Swimming…

I take the same stance as Mrs. George does in the first few paragraphs of her book, Beautiful in God’s Eyes, when I think about the beginning of this new venture to mold my life to mirror that of the Proverbs 31 woman. Looking up at this Mt Everest it seems so unattainable to grab each and every one of her attributes and live them in my daily life. However, what I have to remind myself each and everyday is that I won’t be perfect. Everyday I will not mirror this seemingly perfect woman. Everyday I won’t have the perfect advice or do the right thing in every situation. I won’t know what I am doing at all times and I won’t be able to go through life without fear of different situations that come my way. I have to tell you that realization is going to be the only thing to save your sanity. Being perfect is not what the Proverbs 31 woman or the calling to follow Christ is. Yes, as Christ following christian women, God wants us to strive to become this woman however, we are not being called to perfection. Romans 3:23 states that all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. If we could be perfect we wouldn’t have needed Christ’s blood.

In addition to the picture of hiking Mt Everest, I think of Dori from the Disney movie, DoriFinding Nemo. Her famous slogan of ‘Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming!’ It will seem like we have forgotten the traits of the virtuous woman with how we behave or act but don’t let these moments of Dori-hood derail your ultimate goal. Just keep swimming and remembering that God is a God of grace and love. This will be a lifelong journey to become like Christ and, in hand, this woman of virtue. This will be a daily climb that in the end will result in looking face to face with our Creator and hearing him tell you that you are that virtuous woman He asked you to be.

Love in Christ,

B.

One thought on “Just Keep Swimming…

Leave a Reply

