Week One

404673_4073450113129_425412269_nSo here we are… the first chapter in front of us, the starting point up our mountain. During this week there are a couple things that I would like each of us to start looking at. The first is ourselves.

In the first chapter a pointed question is asked. ‘What do you want to have accomplished by the time you blow out the candles that represent 80 years of life?’ This was a hard question for me. I’m not much of a planner. I like change and new things in my life and making lists to follow and stick to is not something I excel at. This was a question that took a lot of thought for me. I like to think I’m not the only one who has difficulty with this. So after days of thinking about this question and trying to make a list I am finally able to make my list. It is really just one thing. I’m not sure how it will look over the next 50 years of my life but I know one thing that I want to have accomplished. I want to be the living example of the virtuous woman in Proverbs 31 for my daughter. This is going to take a lot of work as I lose my temper a lot, I don’t make the right decision every time, I give up on things easily sometimes, I have times where I want to just cry from too much stress, and the list goes on. However, like most other parents, your kids will make you do things you never thought you would before. More than just wipe poo from another human beings behind or pick a booger from somebody else’s nose. More than just being able to work 10 hours the next day after staying up all night with a fussy child. They will make you want to be more in hopes they will grow into something better than yourself. This question will be answered in different ways for each of us. Through this week, start making your list of what do you want to have accomplished. Feel free to share in the comments.

The second thing is Ruth. In Ruth 3:11 KJV she is called out as a virtuous woman. This had me intrigued. She seems to be the only woman in the Bible that this word is used for, besides the woman of Proverbs 31. There must be a reason! So I started looking deeper into her life. I have read the book of Ruth before, however, I had never read it with this correlation between her and the Proverbs 31 woman in mind before. The first character trait of the Proverbs 31 woman we are going over is ‘virtuous’. This word does not get used much in our day however, up until 200 years ago, it was used quite often and carried great meaning. The ‘Old Testament word refers to a force  and is used to mean able, capable, mighty, strong, valiant, powerful, efficient, wealthy, and worthy.’ The Google definition uses ‘having or showing high moral standards’ to define the word. When you look at synonyms it gives even more definition and meaning to the word. Honest, honorable, noble, incorruptible, principled, righteous, wholesome. This is all to describe Ruth. As we go through this study we will be looking deeper into Ruth’s life and why she was called a virtuous woman.

Feel free to leave comments on the first chapter below on what stood out to you or what was difficult to take. There was plenty that was tough for me to take!

6 thoughts on “Week One

  1. Wow, it just got deep! I so long to be a “rare treasure.”

    We do get so wrapped up in life and put these things to the back burner..

    My eyes are becoming more open 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great 1st chapter!! My prayer is for strength to begin this journey.

    I can’t even imagine climbing Mt. Everest, physically….Our lives transpire and daily we do the climb…but we make it so hard for ourselves. We let fear ruin our path toward the top.

    I so desire to live and leave a legacy, that people remember me as a Woman that is God’s portrait…a reflection of God’s beauty and in his design of excellence…Wow, that is definitely who I want to be!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lots of prayers please. I fall short in every way and struggle to let it go and give it all to God. Chapter 1 was an eye opening chapter on how much work I need to do.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re not alone! Just remember to take little steps and remember not everyday will you be perfect. If any of us could be perfect everyday we wouldn’t have needed a Savior! It is hard to fully let go of our shortfalls and give it to God. Every morning remind your self that God can handle it. He can take our imperfect selves and make them new and shiny!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dear Heavenly Father
        Please place your loving arms around Melinda…let her feel and know your presence, that she is not alone in this journey..ALWAYS stand beside her to reassure her that whatever her struggles are, that with YOU she can take one step at a time. My prayer is for your daily guidance to engulf us in this journey, even if we fall short…pick us up to keep going…Lord, where two or three gather in your name, we know you will be with us…
        In your precious name we pray….AMEN…

        Melinda, I am here and together we CAN do this…love you!!!

        Liked by 2 people

  3. I look forward to this journey with you amazing ladies, my sisters in Christ! We already have the “time with other women” suggestion taken care of. I will pray for you and you pray for me as we venture out on this journey to become the virtuous woman Christ wants us to be.

    “Why not join me in whispering a plea to God for strength—His strength? Why not declare with me your desire to become a woman who, like an army, moves through the challenges and duties of life with valor, courage, bravery, stamina, endurance, and power—His power? I know you want the same thing I want—to truly be a woman who is beautiful in God’s eyes, to enjoy His approval, His ‘well done, good and faithful servant’ (Matthew 25:21), His acknowledgment that ‘you are a virtuous woman’ (Ruth 3:11)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

